In another strong year for British television
Powered by AB Project

In another strong year for British TV, historical drama “Wolf Hall,” Shane Meadows’ “This Is England ‘90” and “Peter Kay’s Car Share” were the biggest winners at the BAFTA Television Awards, which unspooled on May 8 in London’s Royal Festival Hall.

“This Is England ’90,” the latest instalment in Shane Meadows’ Sheffield-set drama, won awards for best miniseries, beating out local click “Doctor Foster,” Working Title’s “London Spy” and Sky’s “The Enfield Haunting” as well as best supporting actress for Chanel Cresswell. It was nominated for three awards going into the event.


The full list of winners is as follows:

:: Leading Actor: Mark Rylance, Wolf Hall

:: Leading Actress: Suranne Jones, Doctor Foster

:: Supporting Actor: Tom Courtenay, Unforgotten

:: Supporting Actress:Chanel Cresswell, This Is England '90

:: Entertainment Performance: Leigh Francis, Celebrity Juice

:: Female performance in a comedy programme: Michaela Coel, Chewing Gum

:: Male performance in a comedy: Peter Kay, Peter Kay's Car Share

:: Single Drama: Don't Take My Baby

:: Mini-series: This Is England '90

:: Drama series: Wolf Hall

:: Soap and continuing drama: Eastenders

:: International: Transparent

:: Factual Series: The Murder Detectives

:: Specialist Factual: Britain's Forgotten Slave Owners

:: Single Documentary: My Son The Jihadi

:: Features: The Great British Bake Off

:: Reality and Constructed Factual: First Dates

:: Current Affairs: Outbreak: The Truth About Ebola (This World)

:: News Coverage: Channel 4 News: Paris Massacre

:: Sport: The Ashes

:: Live Event: Big Blue Live

:: Entertainment Programme: Strictly Come Dancing

:: Comedy and Comedy Entertainment Programme: Have I Got News For You

:: Scripted comedy: Peter Kay's Car Share

:: Radio Times Audience Award (voted for by members of the public): Poldark

:: Special Award in honour of Alan Clarke: Lenny Henry